Brian M. Tiburzi, MA, has worked for PHI since 2008. Born and raised in St. Louis, Brian earned his MA in History from the University of Missouri–St. Louis. Brian helped coordinate PHI’s last two international conferences, in 2009 and 2014. He has also represented PHI at past conferences in Toronto, Copenhagen, and Sydney.

Brian has been very involved in the design and management of Polio Place as well as the new IVUN site, www.ventnews.org.

He was named Executive Director in September of 2017.

Board of Directors
Post-Polio Health International is governed by a Board of Directors and has a paid staff of two. Accounting, design and editorial services are provided by independent contractors.

Saul J. MorsePresident/Chairperson
Legal Counsel, Brown Hay & Stephens, LLP, Springfield, Illinois

Daniel J. Wilson, PhD, Vice President
Allentown, PA

Marny K. Eulberg, MD, Secretary
Mountain & Plains Post Polio Clinic, Wheat Ridge, Colorado

Mike MrozowiczTreasurer
Highlands Ranch, Colorado

Paulette Bergounous
Sparks, Nevada

William M. DeMayo, MD
Specialized Rehabilitation Hospital, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates

Bonnie Levitan
Grosse Pointe, Michigan

Mark Mallinger, PhD
Emeritus Professor of Applied Behavioral Science, Pepperdine University, Malibu, California

Frederick M. Maynard, MD
Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation (Retired), Marquette, Michigan

Padma H. Reichwald, MS, SBB
New Windsor, New York

Allison Roller, MA
Ann Arbor, Michigan

Carol Vandenakker Albanese, MD
UC Davis Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, Sacramento, California

Martin B. Wice, MD
Center for Advanced Medicine, Neuroscience Center, Saint Louis, Missouri

Honorary Board

Honorary Board Members are recognized for their contributions and loyalty to PHI and to the disability community at large. (These members do not have voting privileges and are not entitled to participate in meetings or other activities of the directors.)

Augusta S. Alba, MD
Coler Goldwater Specialty Hospital and Nursing Facility, Roosevelt Island, New York

Allen I. Goldberg, MD, MM, FAAP, FACPE, FCCP
Pediatric Home Health, Loyola University Medical Center (retired), Chicago, Illinois

Lauro S. Halstead, MD
National Rehabilitation Hospital, Washington, DC

Anna Eleanor Roosevelt
Community and Education Relations, The Boeing Company, Chicago, Illinois

Maurice Sonnenberg
New York, New York

Stanley K. Yarnell, MD
Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation (retired), San Francisco, California

Medical Advisory Committee

The Medical Advisory Committee is composed of open-minded health care professionals who are experts in their field and who support PHI's philosophy about independent living. Members must be knowledgeable about the late effects of polio and demonstrate the ability to think analytically and strategically in advising PHI on medical matters. The chair will be a Board member and is responsible for communications between the committee and the Board. The committee composition will represent health care professionals in diverse areas of specialization (e.g., physiatry, pulmonology, occupational therapy) and a balance of backgrounds (e.g., geographic, cultural, gender).

Frederick M. Maynard, MD, Chair
Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, Marquette, Michigan

Laura Bertolasi, MD
Department of Neurosciences, Unit of Neurology, AOUI (Azienda Ospedaliera Universitaria Integrata), Verona, Italy

Stephen De Graaff
Director of Pain Services, Epworth Rehabilitation
, Camberwell, Victoria, Australia

William M. DeMayo, MD
Specialized Rehabilitation Hospital, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates

Marny K. Eulberg, MD
Mountain & Plains Post Polio Clinic, Wheat Ridge, Colorado

Lauro S. Halstead, MD (retired)
National Rehabilitation Hospital, Washington, DC

Jan Lexell, MD, PhD
Professor of Rehabilitation Medicine, Lund University, Consultant Physician,
Department of Neurology and Rehabilitation Medicine, Skåne University Hospital in Lund, Sweden

Stephanie T. Machell, PsyD
Framingham, Massachusetts

Julie G. Madorsky, MD (retired)
University of California-Irvine, Encino, California

Prof. Frans Nollet, MD, PhD
Academic Medical Center, University of Amsterdam, Netherlands

Rhoda Olkin, PhD
California School of Professional Psychology at Alliant University, San Francisco, California

Prof. Dr. Arzu Yağız On
Ege University Medical Faculty, Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, Izmir, Turkey
Ege Üniversitesi Tıp Fakültesi, İzmir, Türkiye

Susan Perlman, MD
Clinical Professor of Neurology, UCLA, Los Angeles, California

Daniel Ryan, MD
Center for PM&R, PC
Warren, Michigan

Daria A. Trojan, MD
Montreal Neurological Institute and Hospital, Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Carol Vandenakker Albanese, MD
University California Davis Health System, Sacramento, California

Mary Westbrook, PhD (retired)
Conjoint Associate Professor, Faculty of Medicine, University of New South Wales, Sydney, Australia

Martin B. Wice, MD
Center for Advanced Medicine/Neuroscience Center, Washington University, Saint Louis, Missouri