Living With Polio

ICD Codes

The International Classification of Diseases is a clinical cataloging system of alphanumeric designations given to every diagnosis, description of symptoms and cause of death attributed to human beings.

It means that each diagnosis a human being may be given has a code, a numbered designation, that goes with it. That code means that every medical professional in the United States and many other parts of the world will understand the diagnosis the same way.

Many countries use the tenth edition (ICD-10). The United States will implement the ICD-10 on October 1, 2015.

Relevant polio and post-polio codes from the ICD-10 are:

Z24 – need for immunization against poliomyelitis
A80-A80.9 – acute poliomyelitis
B91 – Sequelae of poliomyelitis
G14 – Postpolio syndrome

They replace the familiar acute poliomyelitis codes of 045-045.93 and the late effects of polio code of 138 in the ICD-9.

Also relevant is M41.4 – neuromuscular scoliosis.

The codes for sleep apnea (327.21) in the ICD-9 have been expanded. Here are a few that may be relevant to polio survivors.

G47.30 Sleep apnea, unspecified
G47.31 Primary central sleep apnea
G47.33 Obstructive sleep apnea (adult) (pediatric)
G47.36 Sleep-related hypoventilation in conditions classified elsewhere
G47.37 Central sleep apnea in conditions classified elsewhere

The codes may be found on this WHO site.

The 11th version is now being developed through an innovative, collaborative process. For the first time, the WHO is calling on experts and users to participate in the revision process through a web-based platform. The outcome will be a classification that is based on user input and needs.

The final ICD-11 will be released in 2015.

Updated August 2015

Tags for this article:
Late Effects of Polio
Medical Help
Post-Polio Syndrome